COUNCIL

‘Every person, every classroom, every day.’

As outlined by the Department of Education and Training (DET) policy, the School Council is responsible for the educational policies of the college, the use of school buildings, the employment of ancillary staff and all financial matters.

School Councillors collaborate with the principal team, teaching and support staff, to make decisions that help realise the school’s vision, mission, philosophy and values.

They represent groups affected by council policies: parents, teachers, students.

Community members can also be co-opted to lend their expertise to decision making and problem solving.

School Council elections occur in March and are conducted in accordance with DET guidelines.

Click here for further details.

The St Helena Secondary College School Council consists of:

  • 5 parent representatives
  • 4 DET representatives
  • Karen Terry – Principal/Executive Officer
  • 2 community representatives
  • 2 student leaders
  • 4 co-opted (non-voting)

The School Council generally meets every fourth Monday of the month.

All school community members are welcome to attend.

Meeting Schedule as per below.

Sub-committees of the School Council include:

  • Resources
  • Education/Student Wellbeing

 School Councillors can be contacted via email: st.helena.sc@edumail.vic.gov.au

SCHOOL COUNCILLORS

Mr John Fecondo – Community – President

Ms Tania Blankby – Parent – Vice President

Ms Karen Terry – DET – Principal

Mr Jonathan Martin – Treasurer – Parent

Ms Christy Phillips – DET

Mr Scott McLean – DET

Ms Laura Babbage – DET

Mr Scott McLean – DET

Ms Jaqueline Ellis – Parent

Ms Bianca Schoone – Parent

Ms Samantha Saunders – Parent

Mr Jonathan Heard – Parent

Ms Erin Milton – Community

Mr Jaryd Clifford – Community

Mr Sam Lombardo – Community

Vacant Position – DET

MEETING SCHEDULE

DATES

MONTH DATE MEETING TIME
FEBRUARY Monday 20-Feb-17 Resources 6:30pm
College Council 7.00pm
MARCH Monday 6-Mar-17 Education/Student Wellbeing 6.30pm
Labour Day Monday 13 March
Monday 27-Mar-17 Resources 6.30pm
College Council – changeover 7.00pm
TERM 1 BREAK 1 April to 17 April
APRIL
Good Friday 14 April
Easter Sunday 16 April
Anzac Day 25 April
MAY Monday 1-May-17 Education/Student Wellbeing 6.30pm
Monday 22-May-17 Resources 6.30pm
College Council 7.00pm
Queen’s Birthday  Monday 12 June
JUNE Monday 19-Jun-17 Resources 6.30pm
College Council – Annual Reporting 7.00pm
TERM 2 BREAK 01 July to 16 July
JULY Monday 24-Jul-17 Resources 6:30pm
College Council 7.00pm
AUGUST Monday 7-Aug-17 Education/Student Wellbeing 6.30pm
Monday 21-Aug-17 Resouces 6.30pm
College Council 7.00pm
SEPTEMBER Monday 18-Sep-17 Resources 6.30pm
College Council 7.00pm
TERM 3 BREAK 23 Sept to 8 October
OCTOBER Monday 23-Oct-17 Resources 6:30pm
College Council 7.00pm
Melb Cup 3 November
NOVEMBER Monday 6-Nov-17 Education/Student Wellbeing 6.30pm
Monday 20-Nov-17 Resources 6.30pm
College Council 7.30pm
TERM 4 BREAK 23 Dec to 28 Jan 2018

EVENTS

EVENT

DATE

TIME

College Play Thur 4 May, Fri 5 May, Sat 6 May 7pm
College Showcase Mon 20 & Tue 21 March Mon – 5 & 7pm & Tue – 9:30am
Music Concert Mon 26 June 7pm
College Production - RENT 17-19 & 24 - 26 Aug   VIP  Night Thur 24 Aug 6.00pm
Music Concert Tues 19 Sept
Art Show 17 - 20 Oct 7.30pm
Yr 12 Valedictory Fri 20 Oct 6:30pm
Yr 12 Graduation Wed 22 Nov TBC
Music Concert Mon 27 Nov 7pm
Volunteer Garden Party Mon 11 Dec
College Presentation Night Mon 18 Dec
KT_150dpi
MCPL9359_web